You Were Always MineYou Were Always Mine by Nicole Baart

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Motherhood can make a woman fierce. It certainly did for Jessica Chamberlain. Still adjusting to life after separating from her husband, Jess was getting back on her feet when she gets the call. A body has been found in a different state and the police think the deceased is her husband. Jess is sure there has been a mistake, but the clues start to pile up and Jess realizes that Evan had been keeping secrets from her – secrets that involved their adopted son.

You Were Always Mine is a gripping novel that keeps you a little off-kilter and wanting to know more. I liked how Nicole Baart started each chapter with a coded entry that included a woman’s name and a list of classifications. I was deliciously annoying to not know what they meant and propelled me through each chapter hoping to find out more.

The themes of adoption and connection to our children elevated this book beyond domestic thriller to thoughtful book club book that I wholeheartedly recommend.

View all my reviews