Little Broken Things – A review

Little Broken ThingsLittle Broken Things by Nicole Baart

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Blurb:

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn’s house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.

My Review:

This is the kind of novel that makes you lose a whole weekend to reading. The characters were vivid and the relationships complex. Quinn is the kind of sister you can text and know she will do anything you ask, including hiding a frightened little girl. Nora is the kind of woman that loves the people in her life without regard for her own safety. And Liz is their mother, who is as confused and lost as her daughters. She just goes about things differently. Where Nora and Quinn lead messy lives, their mother is wound tight and far too aware of how things look. Baart’s prose is wonderful and the plot twists and turns kept me on the edge of my seat. I enjoyed losing myself in this family drama and losing a whole weekend.

View all my reviews

Advertisements