reading-and-feet

This month, the Insecure Writers Support Group is talking about how becoming a writer has changed the way we read. I miss the joy of reading just for pleasure. To a certain extent, becoming a writer has wrecked the enjoyment of reading. I do a little development editing and a fair amount of beta reading for other authors. This work has changed the way I read.  When I pick up a new book, I can’t just enjoy it. I am judging how well the first few pages hook me as a reader. I’m paying attention to how the reader adds tension and how they manipulate sub-plots to avoid a saggy middle. I’m overly conscious of character development and description.  It is a rare book that takes me out of the critical mindset and allows me to escape into the world of the book, so when I do, I am very happy. That being said, I still reading fifty to sixty books a year that are not part of my work, so I just keep plugging.

This post is part of the Insecure Writers Support Group. Click on the picture to be taken to the list of other bloggers involved in the group.

12110-iwsg2bbadge


15940556_1092808007513031_4745579252589912503_n

 

