Tags

FracturedFractured by Catherine McKenzie

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book. Catherine McKenzie captures the oppressive quality of suburban life perfectly. Julie and her family move into their house on Pine Street to escape the stalker that terrorized her in Tacoma, but she is unprepared for the stifling social climate in her new neighborhood. For the first half of the book I thought I knew where the story was going, then it started to get wonderfully dark and twisty and I could not put it down.

Fractured is a psychological thriller about situations and people that felt all too familiar in modern American suburbia. I loved how Catherine McKenzie drew her characters as flawed people. No one, especially the two point-of-view characters, is all good or all bad. I liked pausing every once in a while to wonder how one of the other characters would view the events as they unfold. That is the mark of excellent writing for me.

On a side note: Throughout the book, Julie’s first novel, The Murder Game, is referred to over and over. More than once, I wanted to read that book. And now I can!

View all my reviews

