nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

I can’t believe I am actually saying this (or writing to be more accurate), but I am doing Nanowrimo again this year. But Elizabeth, you say, you vowed to never do Nanowrimo again. You said November was a terrible time to drop everything and knock out 50,000 words in 30 days. You said you’re too busy this year. You said you are working full-time until the election and have to take 6 days off from writing to drive to New England for Thanksgiving. You said Nanowrimo didn’t fit in with your writing career trajectory anymore.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I’m doing it anyway.

I was talking to my muses (otherwise known as the Winklings) and my friend, Summer, suggested I write an interlocking series of clean romances. I laughed it off and tried to get the group to concentrate on the mystery I’ve written, but I couldn’t get the idea out of my head.  I started writing pieces of scenes and loose outlines of plot. Characters started talking to me as I went about my day. Connections formed in my brain. The series started getting in the way of the other books I’ve been working on. Therefore, this is the perfect year for me to do Nanowrimo. I am going to knock out a quick and dirty loosey-goosey draft of the first three books and see what happens. I may keep going after December 1st. I may chuck the whole idea and go back to the project I was working on. Who knows. At least I’ll be able to concentrate again. Tune in next month to find out what happens.

Are you doing Nano this year? Connect with me on the site, my screen name is Elizafith.

Anyway, here is my post from last year with some good tips for how to get through November with your sanity intact – 10 tips for getting through Nanowrimo 

Other past posts about Nanowrimo:

How writing a book is like making jelly
It’s Nano Time Again


InsecureWritersSupportGroup

IWSG November question: What is your favorite aspect of being a writer?

If you’ve read this far into this post, you can tell that my favorite thing about writing is the creative flexibility this life affords. I like being able to drop a project and follow a different path for a while. Of course, it is easy to get lost in the forest of ideas but it can all work out if you leave a trail of breadcrumbs.

 

