Tags

, ,

Hag-Seed (Hogarth Shakespeare)Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love Margaret Atwood. Her work always challenges me in ways I didn’t anticipate. Hag-Seed is a masterful interpretation of Shakespeare’s The Tempest, this time set largely in a prison. Atwood does an amazing job of staying true to the basic story of the original play and updating it is such a way that the themes are fresh.

I can see this book being used in literature classes much like The Wide Sargasso Sea is read in conjunction with Jane Eyre and Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead is read in conjunction with Hamlet. Reading Hag-Seed reminded me of why Margaret Atwood is one of our most important contemporary authors.

Thank you to NetGalley for an advanced copy in exchange for my thoughts on the novel.

View all my reviews

