Tags

, ,

1024px-stacked_cars_in_city_junkyard_will_be_used_for_scrap_-_nara_-_552738During this year’s A to Z Challenge, I am writing about my latest novel, Escape Plan by giving you all little snippets about the characters, inspiration, and lessons learned while writing my third novel.

I find junkyards fascinating. Like the main character in Escape Plan, I used to drive a 1970  Volvo. By the time I owned the car in the mid-80’s it was starting to fall apart. When the window crank fell off in my hand one day,  I found my way to Linder’s Salvage Yard. They had a section of the junkyard with European cars in various stages of demolition where I found a Volvo of the same approximate age and literally ripped a door off a totalled car. The beauty of cars of that age was that my father and I were able take the door apart and replace the broken parts in my car for less that $20 (and a few bruised knuckles.) When my car got hit by a drunk driver a few years later, I sold it to Mr. Linder for parts. I know at least the gas tank lived on because a man called me to ask where he could still get leaded gas in central Massachusetts.

In Escape Plan, Kitty (the main character) sells her Volvo station wagon to a junkyard. She can’t bear to drive the car after she used it as part of the plan to cover up the fact that she’d murdered her husband. Rather than selling it to a used car dealership or private individual, she just wants it gone and out of her life. I liked the image of the family’s car being broken up for parts much like Kitty’s family was splintering because of her actions. I realize my readers won’t put that much thought into the imagery in the novel, but I know it’s there.

See you tomorrow!


Escape Plan by Elizabeth Hein (100x150)To celebrate the release of Escape Plan coinciding with the A to Z Challenge, I am giving away a $10 Barnes & Noble gift card and 3 copies of Escape Plan. All you have to do is leave a comment with a way to reach you when you win.

Also, if you sign-up to receive my newsletter, I will send you a free copy of Overlook, the prequel to Escape Plan.


Why not check out some of the other blogs participating in the A to Z Challenge by clicking on the logo below.

