Tags

, , ,

 

6a01156f47abbe970c0147e144fbcf970b-800wi

Diane Von Furstenberg dress (c. 1976)

 

During this year’s A to Z Challenge, I am writing about my latest novel, Escape Plan by giving you all little snippets about the characters, inspiration, and lessons learned while writing my third novel.

One of the fun things about writing a book set in 1976 was passing off hours of trolling through Pinterest for examples of what Kitty and the gals would wear as research.  If you google mid-70’s fashion, you find a lot of photos of young people wearing wide bell-bottoms and American flag bikinis. I was nine in 1976, so I know that suburban mom’s were not dressing like that (or at least not my mom). The trends for middle-aged women that year were denim culottes, rainbow sweaters, and rust corduroy pants suits. I couldn’t do that to Kitty. No one, even in fiction, should have to wear culottes. Finally, I found this gorgeous Diane Von Furstenberg wrap dress and knew I had found my way into Kitty’s closet. I love how the wrap dress is body conscious while not showing off any skin. That dress led me to the rest of Kitty’s wardrobe which is filled with silk blouses over high-waisted jeans, and jumpsuits that show off her figure without making her look like she’s wearing her daughter’s clothes. Fashion is just one of the tools that help an author to get to know their characters and introduce them to the reader.

See you tomorrow!


Escape Plan by Elizabeth Hein (100x150)To celebrate the release of Escape Plan coinciding with the A to Z Challenge, I am giving away a $10 Barnes & Noble gift card and 3 copies of Escape Plan. All you have to do is leave a comment with a way to reach you when you win.

Also, if you sign-up to receive my newsletter, I will send you a free copy of Overlook, the prequel to Escape Plan.


Why not check out some of the other blogs participating in the A to Z Challenge by clicking on the logo below.

 

