Tags

,

 

AP Lili G 04 found object sculpture

Found Object Art

 

 

Good Morning!

It’s a big day. Not only is it release day for my latest novel, it is the first day of the A to Z Challenge. This is the fourth year that I am doing the challenge and think I am finally getting the hang of it. Planning is the key to success in the month of April. This year I am writing about Escape Plan and giving you all little snippets about the characters, inspiration, and lessons learned while writing my third novel. So, let’s get on with A for Aaron.

As if Kitty Haskell’s life wasn’t complicated enough with her murdering her husband and trying to get away with the crime, she meets a man. Aaron is a welcome complication. Kitty trained to be an art curator before she became a wife and mother and Aaron is an artist, so they have more in common than Kitty ever had with her husband. He’s also much younger and much more fun than Seth ever was. Aaron is also a key player in making Kitty’s escape plan work.

It was fun writing the character of Aaron. In the first book in the Overlook series, Kitty was content to live a celibate life and wasn’t in touch with her sexuality at all. That changed while I was writing Escape Plan. I originally wrote the scene where Kitty donates her dead husband’s clothing as a minor, move the plan along scene. Once she was at the shelter, the scene started to write itself and involved a talented intriguing artist that works with found objects to make his art. I liked the metaphor of Aaron changing garbage into something beautiful, kind of like he helps Kitty do with her life.

See you tomorrow!


Escape Plan by Elizabeth Hein (100x150)To celebrate the release of Escape Plan coinciding with the A to Z Challenge, I am giving away a $10 Barnes & Noble gift card and 3 copies of Escape Plan. All you have to do is leave a comment with a way to reach you when you win.

Also, if you sign-up to receive my newsletter, I will send you a free copy of Overlook, the prequel to Escape Plan.


Why not check out some of the other blogs participating in the A to Z Challenge by clicking on the logo below.

