Tags

, ,

Rosa Temple is joining me in the Storage Room to talk about her new book Natalie’s Getting Married. Welcome, Rosa.

Thanks so much for having me, Elizabeth! Before we begin, I want to say that I am running a Launch Day Giveaway on my blog. It lasts two weeks, so I hope your readers will pop over and try to win a free copy of Natalie’s Getting Married.

Natalies Getting Married Cover.jpg

Tell us about your latest book?

Natalie’s Getting Married is a romantic comedy about career minded Natalie who has never fallen in love, but when she does it leads to a catalogue of disasters that will take years to put right. With the help of her supporting cast, there might be hope for her in the end.

What inspired you to write this novel?

There was no light bulb moment, there was nothing going on in my life that guided me towards this one. I really just wanted to write a realistic heroine who could make us laugh and cry as we followed her journey. I went about inventing her physical characteristics and then interviewing her to find out where she lived, who her friends were, what she did for a living etc. In creating Natalie’s character, her story started to take shape. The novel went through lots of transformations until I was happy with the final draft.

Tell us a bit about your main character.

We first meet Natalie when she is a Freshman at university. She’s full of ambition with no time for frivolity. But she becomes immediately infatuated by a guy on campus and while her career gets better all the time, she never seems to make the right romantic match. At times we want to shake her and make her see sense. She’s a likeable girl who we grow up with into her late twenties, but she is prone to messing up sometimes. Luckily she has some very supportive friends.

What message do you want your readers to come away with?

This really is a feel good book and if nothing else I want readers to get cosy and enjoy Natalie’s adventures. The story hinges on friendships and being in tune with your feelings. Life can be hectic, a lot of the time we get caught up in the whirlwind of it all and never stop to analyse whether we’re on the right track. I want to entertain and that’s enough for me. But if the reader learns the lesson that Natalie does, that would be a bonus.

What is your favorite part of the book?

This is a hard one. I think I like all the times we see Natalie’s friend, Bella in action. She makes me laugh and I love her devil may care attitude to life. Secretly I wish I was more like her.

What book that you have read has most influenced your life?

It was Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks. It was given to me as a present and it was the first in a chain of books I’d eventually read on my commute to central London everyday. The tube was always packed and mostly I’d have to stand, gripping onto the rail with a book in one hand, the page pressed up against my nose. There was beauty in the words and most of all the writing transported me from that crowded tube train, bustling along underground, to the world Faulks had created. That book did two things: made me re-establish my love for reading, something I lost in my teens, and it made me start wondering if I could ever transport a reader in the way he had done.

In bringing this book to market, what have you learned about the publishing process?

I’ve learned that you never stop learning. This book is self-published. It’s the second time I’ve self-published and it seemed as though I was starting all over again.

This time around I enlisted the help of beta readers who were a great source of encouragement and helpful feedback. I’d encourage any writer, self-published or not, to make sure your writing is critiqued by people who don’t know if you want honest opinions. You’ll have a much better product in the end.

I actually formatted the book myself. It was a huge learning curve but very satisfying.

I also read lots of articles about marketing books because I realised I was pretty poor at that aspect of the process.

Self-publishing is time-consuming so you have to have stamina and patience. Never try to meet deadlines when you’re tired, you’re guaranteed to mess something up – I know I have!

I think next time I will be making myself a ‘How To’ document so I can record all the tips I pick up along the way. I made scrappy notes and moved on to the next thing which was a big mistake in hindsight.

I don’t suppose I’ll ever become an expert but I know so much more today than I did first time around.

What is next for you?

I’ve already got two books in progress. One has a Christmas theme so I’m hoping, if I don’t get too sidetracked, it’ll be ready later this year. I’m also working on the book I hope to publish at some stage next year. I seem to be brimming with ideas but so little time.

Where can readers find you online?

Blog – Rosa Temple Writes: http://rosatemplewrites.blogspot.co.uk/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RosaTempleWriter/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RosaT_Author

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14071311.Rosa_Temple

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01AC6XY72

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01AC6XY72

FeedaRead: https://www.feedaread.com/profiles/9136/

Google+ : google.com/

A little bit about Rosa:

Rosa Temple author pic.jpgRosa Temple began writing romantic comedies and chick lit because of her passion for what she calls the ‘early chick lit films’, like: Sabrina, Barefoot In the Park and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. She honed her skills as a ghost writer, gaining experience writing romantic novellas, both sweet and on the slightly steamy side. In her notebooks, she constantly jotted down story ideas of her own and she eventually completed her first novella Sleeping With Your Best Friend and now, the full-length novel, Natalie’s Getting Married.

Rosa Temple is a Londoner and is married with two sons. She is a reluctant keep fit fanatic and doer of housework and insists that writing keeps her away from such strenuous tasks. She spends her days creating characters and story lines while drinking herbal tea and eating chocolate biscuits.

To find out more about Rosa and to catch up on all her musings please join her here on Rosa Temple Writes…

