Tags

, , ,

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible ThingsFuriously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Jenny Lawson makes mental illness seem hilarious. She discusses her difficulties with such a light touch that you don’t initially realize how honest and raw her observations are. When I paused to examine all the different anecdotes as a whole, the big takeaway of this book is we all need a supportive family and good medical care. Jenny is blessed with a supportive and stunningly sane husband that anchors her life when she is off collecting taxidermied giraffes and planning trips to pet live koalas. Although Jenny touches on the serious side of mental illness, her delivery kept me entertained throughout the audiobook. I laughed out loud so many times, I had to stop listening in public because people were staring at the crazy lady laughing to herself while walking down the sidewalk.

View all my reviews

