Tags

, , ,

It’s that time again. The old year has passed and the new year looms ahead. Now is the time to loo back on the goals we set last year and set new goals. This year I want to step up my writing career and take it to the next level. One way to do that is to look back and see what worked for me and what didn’t.

My goals for 2015 and how I did with accomplishing them.

  • Finish the first draft of Escape Plan (the sequel to my first book, Overlook) during the month of January. I am participating in the Women’s Fiction Writers Association’s Write-a-thin to help stay on track and to lend me support. I didn’t quite complete the first draft in the month of January, but I got very close. The Write-a-thin program was wonderful. I learned so much about pacing and met some wonderful authors.
  • Maintain a consistent daily writing habit. I will use tracking software to keep tabs on all the projects I have going. I can’t say I wrote every single day in 2015, but I got pretty close to a daily writing habit. When I started working again, I woke up before dawn to get at least an hour or so of writing done before I left for work. I was glad when that project ended and I could wake up at a more reasonable hour. I did use some tracking software for a while and abandoned it because it was too cumbersome. (More on this in my 2016 goals.)
  • Finish the first book in the Midge & Snig series and get the second and third books well underway. Nope. Not even close. 
  • Maintain a daily habit of reading a few pages of a craft book every morning. I made an attempt to do this and it was helpful the days I did. I find reading a craft book gets my brain going nicely.
  • Participate in the AtoZ Challenge. I did do this. 2015 was all about the Galapagos Islands and was fun.
  • Find at least 10 beta readers for Escape Plan and 20 ARC readers.  I found beta readers. I am still in need of ARC readers. If you are interested, please drop me a line.
  • Publish Escape Plan in the fall of 2015. I plan to publish this under my Winterfield Press imprint. I missed the mark here. I plan to release Escape Plan in April 2016. 

That brings me to my goals for 2016:

  • Find 25 people to read and review Escape Plan before it is released in April. [If you would like to be one of those people, please contact me.]
  • Finish the first book in the Midge & Snig series and get it through at least one round of critique.
  • Make a go of starting a creative cooperative where I can market my skills at formatting manuscripts and other people can market their gifts. [More on this in future posts.]
  • Write faster. I would like to publish one book per year, so I need to simply produce more pages in less time. I am experimenting with things like dictation software and writing sprints to get more words on the page. I am also going to work on editing at a faster pace.
  • Track my daily writing practice better. This year I plan to use Jaime Raintree’s spreadsheet system. I like how detailed her spreadsheet is and how it allows me to track my progress on multiple projects.
  • Reassess my social media activity and decide what is working for me and what is not. I feel like I am not doing any one platform well and don’t want to spend more total time on-line.
  • Reassess my involvement in the various critique groups I’ve been involved with. It’s valuable to examine whether or not the group is useful for me and if I am useful for them.
  • Make peace with the idea of working a job as well as writing. I enjoy working outside the house, but I need to figure out how to do so without slowing down my writing career.
  • Actively eliminate negative forces in my writing life. The writing life is fraught with enough insecurity without unnecessary sources of negativity.

What are your goals for this year? How do you plan to reach them?

12110-iwsg2bbadge

Today’s post is part of the Insecure Writers Support Group. The purpose of the group is to share and encourage each other to express our doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds, so consider joining the group.

