Tags

,

photo by Incisler

I am struggling these days to maintain a semblance of balance between my writing life and the rest of my life. After decades of being a stay-at-home-mom and intermittently working part-time from home, I’ve been spending my days in an office. It’s left me exhausted and frazzled. I don’t have the energy to do much of anything when I get home in the evening. I’ve let this blog lie fallow, all but disappeared from Twitter and Facebook, and can’t maintain enough focus to even watch television in the evenings. Early morning is the only time I can get any momentum. Most mornings, I can sneak in an hour or two of undisturbed writing time.

I refuse to stop writing every day, although my progress has slowed way down because – this is what I do. I write. I am a writer that happens to spend most of her time doing something else. (Wow, I’m already feeling better just writing that sentence. Ahh, the power of the word!) To a certain extent, having a job has forced me to be more focused during my writing time, which is a good thing. I just wish I wasn’t so exhausted all the time.

How do you all balance work, family, and writing? Do you schedule writing time into your day or do you work it in between other tasks? How do manage your energy?


I look forward to the Insecure Writer’s Support Group posts every month. I love how honest and supportive this community of writers are. I encourage you to visit the other participating bloggers and see what is going on in their writing rooms.

12110-iwsg2bbadge

THE INSECURE WRITER’S SUPPORT GROUP IS A MONTHLY BLOG HOP TO LEND SUPPORT TO A GROWING COMMUNITY OF WRITERS. I ENCOURAGE YOU TO GO TO ALEX CAVANAUGH’S EXCELLENT BLOG AND JOIN IN. IF YOU CLICK ON THE LOGO ABOVE, IT WILL TAKE YOU TO THE LIST OF PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

