Tags

,

I need to preface this post by pointing out that I am a lousy gardener. I like having flowers in my yard. I have big ideas and can envision what the garden could be like. However, I don’t enjoy yard work; the summers here are too hot and humid, the soil is too hard, and I have a bad back. I fail far more than I succeed as a gardener.

IMG_0903 (1)

Sometime in the fall of 2009, I bought three bags of iris rhizomes. I had visions of planting a bulb garden around the mailbox that would bloom from March to October. That never happened. I found the bag of dried up, shriveled blobs while tidying up the garage last fall. I thought they were long dead, but what-the-hey, I had a shovel and a blank spot next to the driveway. I dug a hole, dropped them in, and forgot about them. Much to my surprise they bloomed.

Those poor little dried up rhizomes reminded me of the story ideas languishing deep in the back of my file cabinets. I wonder if I pulled them out and gave them a bit of sunshine and nutrients, would they bloom? How long would they take to germinate?

Have you resurrected abandoned ideas? How did it turn out? Did they rot in the ground or did they bloom?


I look forward to the Insecure Writer’s Support Group posts every month. I love how honest and supportive this community of writers are. I encourage you to visit the other participating bloggers and see what is going on in their writing rooms.

12110-iwsg2bbadge

THE INSECURE WRITER’S SUPPORT GROUP IS A MONTHLY BLOG HOP TO LEND SUPPORT TO A GROWING COMMUNITY OF WRITERS. I ENCOURAGE YOU TO GO TO ALEX CAVANAUGH’S EXCELLENT BLOG AND JOIN IN. IF YOU CLICK ON THE LOGO ABOVE, IT WILL TAKE YOU TO THE LIST OF PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

