Tags

,

Sarah Foster over at the Faux Fountain Pen is hosting a fun blogfest today.  A group of us are having a virtual party with our muse/characters. Drop by her blog and join the party.
1. Who is your muse (or character)? Tell us a little bit about him/her and why you brought them. I brought Jane Babcock-Roberts, one of the characters in How To Climb The Eiffel Tower. She is a successful business woman and mother. When we meet Jane in the novel, she has just been diagnosed with cancer and is reassessing the way she lived her life. When she meets Lara Blaine at the hospital, she sees an opportunity to befriend a younger woman in need and do things a bit differently this time. I brought Jane with me today because she’s fun to hang out with. When I was editing How To Climb The Eiffel Tower, she would sit on the floor of my office and crack jokes about the lack of snacks. She thought if I was going to do anything as boring as fussing over comma usage, there should be nachos.
2. What are you guys wearing? Dressing up or keeping it casual? I am wearing my usual outfit; a cardigan, white cotton shirt, and jeans. Not that exciting. Jane, on the other hand, is dressed beautifully in loose grey pants and a soft silk tunic. Jane always looks pulled together and elegant.
3. It’s a potluck! Did you bring something yummy? We brought bacon-wrapped dates. They are gluten free and super yummy.
4. Open bar! What are you both drinking (booze or otherwise)? Jane and I both like a Negroni, which is an Italian cocktail made with Campari, red vermouth, and gin with a twist of orange. Jane discovered Negronis while going through chemotherapy. She was looking for a bright red cocktail the same color as the “chemo cocktail” they gave her at the hospital.
5. Wallflowers or social butterflies? Jane and I are more wallflowers than social butterflies. We are likely to be found at the bar people watching and telling jokes.
6. What song(s) will you and your muse sing for karaoke? If I did karaoke, I would sing Elvis Costello’s “Almost Blue.” I love the song and it is one of the few songs that I can sing on key. Jane has a husky voice, so she would probably sing something by Julie London, perhaps “Black Coffee” or “Cry Me A River.”
7. What’s your favorite party game? I’m a fan of the classics. I like a good game of charades. You can play it anywhere, with any age group, and it doesn’t need any equipment. Jane and I would be a good team because I know book titles and she has an encyclopedic knowledge of television history.
8. Which one of you is more likely to end up dancing on a table top? Jane would be more likely to dance on a table than I would. I am far too shy.
9. Has your muse been a good date and would you ever hang out with them again? I would definitely hang out with Jane again. Next time, I think we we’ll have dinner and try some new cuisines.
