Tags

,

IMG_0919 (1)

Elizabeth and Samantha Bryant at the launch for Going Through The Change

This spring has brought new joy to my writing life. Several of the wonderful writers that cheered me on through the launch of How To Climb The Eiffel Tower released books in the last month or so. I can’t fully express how excited I am for them.

It has been exciting to do readings and book events for my own books, but those events can also be terrifying. Going to a friend’s reading is just pure joy. Posting and tweeting about their books doesn’t make me feel like I am unduly tooting my own horn. It feels like spreading the word about a great new book that people should read.

One of the new releases I’m excited about is by someone many of you know from this monthly blog hop – Samantha Bryant. Her book Going Through The Change came out in the middle of April to great reviews. I was overcome with pride on her behalf when I walked into Flyleaf books to find the event room packed for her launch party. She writes about a group of women that try to get some help with their symptoms of menopause, and get far more than they bargained for – super powers.

Another writer friend, N.A. Granger released the second book in her Rhe Brewster mystery series, Death in a Dacron Sail. Noelle and I have been critique partners and writing friends for years now. The series follows the plucky Rhe Brewster through her action-packed life, as well as a few murders. It was a pleasure to see her read at the campus bookstore at UNC and talk her up a bit to the audience.

Another writer friend, Susan Ornbratt, released her debut novel, The Particular Appeal of Gillian Pugsley. I haven’t had the pleasure to celebrate its launch with her in personal since she moved back to Sweden, but I am with her in spirit. I am really excited about this book. It has a timelessness to it that I think people will connect with.

These women were supportive of me when I was in the spotlight and I want to shine the spotlight on them. They wrote reviews and showed up for me in many ways over the last year or so. I want to do the same for them because petty jealousy in the writing world is a very real thing. I am not a young woman and don’t consider myself naive, yet I was still surprised by the level of ugliness I received from some of my fellow writers when I experienced a little success. I was disappointed when some of the people that had been my critique partners for several years essentially stopped talking to me when I got a published. Your peers should have your back, not stab you in the back.

Just like in times of illness, your true friends stand with you when you are doing well and hold you up when you are not. For instance, my friend Dawn Taylor has been one of my biggest supporters. She came with me on several of my book tour stops to cheer me on and keep me from getting nervous. She is always there to support her writing buddies. You better bet I will be there for her when she is marketing her books and paintings.

Do you have writer friends that cheer you on? Do you return the favor?


I look forward to the Insecure Writer’s Support Group posts every month. I love how honest and supportive this community of writers are. I encourage you to visit the other participating bloggers and see what is going on in their writing rooms.

12110-iwsg2bbadge

THE INSECURE WRITER’S SUPPORT GROUP IS A MONTHLY BLOG HOP TO LEND SUPPORT TO A GROWING COMMUNITY OF WRITERS. I ENCOURAGE YOU TO GO TO ALEX CAVANAUGH’S EXCELLENT BLOG AND JOIN IN. IF YOU CLICK ON THE LOGO ABOVE, IT WILL TAKE YOU TO THE LIST OF PARTICIPATING BLOGS.


2

Amazon is featuring How To Climb The Eiffel Tower

as a special deal May 8 – 15!

