Tags

,

DSC_1764

We are coming down to the last few AtoZ posts for 2015! Today, I want to share a few pictures of yellow warblers with you. We saw several of these tiny birds while walking around Santiago Island in the Galapagos. Their bright yellow plumage was striking against the otherworldly black pahoehoe lava flows. They seemed to be in constant motion poking their short sharp beaks into the holes of the volcanic rocks in search of insects.

Unlike many of the other birds we saw on the Galapagos, the Yellow Warbler can be found throughout North and South America. I have spotted Yellow Warblers in my travels around the US, but never as dramatically as the day I took these pictures.

DSC_1766

I’ve written a funny scene in the Galapagos mystery book about yellow warblers (it’s killing me to not capitalize the species names, but my style guide says that’s a no-no). Midge and Snig make friends with an ornithologist that drones on about the little birds and bores the other passengers. Midge is the only one paying attention to him and picks up an important clue from the lecture. This book is turning out to be a ton of fun to write.


Would you like to be part of Midge & Snig’s adventure in the Galapagos? Want to have your name (or any name you choose) in my next book? From now until the end of April, everyone who follows my blog, signs up for my newsletter, or leaves a comment, will be entered in a drawing for the chance to name the cruise ship featured in the book.

This post in part of the AtoZ Challenge. Please click on the sunflower AtoZ icon in the sidebar to go to the official list of participating blogs. This year my theme is the Galapagos Islands. I am in the process of writing the first of my Midge & Snig mystery series set in the islands. In my research, I have come across a plethora of interesting facts and images. The vast majority of my research won’t get included in the book, but it’s fun to share what I’ve learned with you all.

