Tags

, ,

Many tours of the Galapagos include the island of Espanola (or Hood) Island. The relatively flat island is the best place to see the waved albatross, sea lions, and the varied species of seabirds along a short hike around the island.

Fun facts about Espanola:

  • At the southeastern tip of the chain, Espanola is the oldest of the islands still above water.
  • The Española giant tortoise species was rescued from the brink of extinction and is now one of Galapagos’ greatest conservation success stories. In the 1960s, scientists took the last 14 tortoises to the Charles Darwin Foundation to breed them in captivity. Since then, nearly 1,500 young tortoises have been rereleased on Española.
  • The island is made up of a single caldera of a long dead volcano. 
  • The island is only place on Earth you could find the Hood mockingbird. It is the only species of mockingbird that Charles Darwin did not collect and bring back to England.

 

  • These colorful subspecies of lava lizards and marine iguanas are only found on Espanola.

Sources:

About Galapagos
Galapagos


Would you like to be part of Midge & Snig’s adventure in the Galapagos? Want to have your name (or any name you choose) in my next book? From now until the end of April, everyone who follows my blog, signs up for my newsletter, or leaves a comment, will be entered in a drawing for the chance to name the cruise ship featured in the book.

This post in part of the AtoZ Challenge. Please click on the sunflower AtoZ icon in the sidebar to go to the official list of participating blogs. This year my theme is the Galapagos Islands. I am in the process of writing the first of my Midge & Snig mystery series set in the islands. In my research, I have come across a plethora of interesting facts and images. The vast majority of my research won’t get included in the book, but it’s fun to share what I’ve learned with you all.

