Tags

, ,

Language is a cracked kettle on which we

Since so many of us are participating in the A to Z Challenge this month, I am keeping my IWSG post very short. My level of insecurity about my writing has been all over the place these last few weeks. I gave myself a deadline to finish the second draft of the sequel to Overlook by the end of March. I’m not going to make it, although I am close.  My issue is – I’m not sure if this story is any good. Some days, I feel like the novel is coming together well and people will enjoy it. Others, I feel like I should hang up my notebooks and move on. I guess some insecurity is normal, however I am really doubting myself these days.

The Flaubert quote above sums up how I’ve been feeling. It’s one of the writing koans I keep on the wall of my writing room. It feels profound, yet doesn’t quite make sense.

I am looking forward to putting that project aside to concentrate on my destination mystery project and the A to Z Challenge for the month of April. Hopefully, while its resting in the file drawer, I’ll either get some inspiration on how to move it forward.

 


I look forward to the Insecure Writer’s Support Group posts every month. I love how honest and supportive this community of writers are. I encourage you to visit the other participating bloggers and see what is going on in their writing rooms.

12110-iwsg2bbadge

THE INSECURE WRITER’S SUPPORT GROUP IS A MONTHLY BLOG HOP TO LEND SUPPORT TO A GROWING COMMUNITY OF WRITERS. I ENCOURAGE YOU TO GO TO ALEX CAVANAUGH’S EXCELLENT BLOG AND JOIN IN. IF YOU CLICK ON THE LOGO ABOVE, IT WILL TAKE YOU TO THE LIST OF PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

