Tags

, ,


Galapagos-Map

For the month of April, I’ll be sharing tidbits about the Galapagos islands. As the first post in the A to Z Challenge, we’ll start off with the basics.

The Galapagos Islands are an archipelago located approximately 700 miles off the coast of Ecuador. The islands were formed as the Earth’s surface has slowly moved over a hotspot in the Earth’s crust. Successive volcanic eruptions formed each of the islands over the millennia. As the archipelago moves slowly southeast, the islands erode and sink back into the Pacific ocean. The Galapagos islands are the home of some the most unique species found on Earth and are the only place some species like the giant tortoise, marine iguana, and Darwin finches can be found. After his travels to the Galapagos, Charles Darwin went on to develop his theory of evolution based on the birds and wildlife he saw on the islands.

I visited the Galapagos Islands in 2008 with my family. It was a life changing experience. I fell in love with the wildlife, became more interested in studying geology, and discovered I love snorkeling. I am in the early phases of writing a mystery series about two friends that love to travel and have a terrible habit of tripping over dead bodies. Their first adventure will be in the Galapagos. All this month, I will be sharing some of my pictures from our trip and interesting factoids about the islands.

Fun facts:

  • There are 19 large islands
  • 13 of the islands have an area of less than 6 sq. miles
  • The largest island, Isabela, is nearly five times larger than the next largest island, Santa Cruz
  • Many of the islands have English names and Spanish names. This can lead to confusion when looking at maps and planning your trip.

Would you like to be part of Midge & Snig’s adventure in the Galapagos? Want to have your name (or any name you choose) in my next book? From now until the end of April, everyone who follows my blog, signs up for my newsletter, or leaves a comment, will be entered in a drawing for the chance to name the cruise ship featured in the book.

This post in part of the AtoZ Challenge. Please click on the sunflower AtoZ icon in the sidebar to go to the official list of participating blogs. This year my theme is the Galapagos Islands. I am in the process of writing the first of my Midge & Snig mystery series set in the islands. In my research, I have come across a plethora of interesting facts and images. The vast majority of my research won’t get included in the book, but it’s fun to share what I’ve learned with you all.

