Tags

I’m excited to participate in Follow Fest 2014. I hope to meet some new blogger friends and learn about their work. Here is a little bit about me and what I am working on.

Name: Elizabeth Hein

Fiction or nonfiction? Fiction

What genres do you write? Women’s fiction, literary fiction, mystery

Are you published? Yes, How To Climb The Eiffel Tower (October 2014) with Light Messages Publishing, Overlook (2013) with my imprint, Winterfield Press

Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a Massachusetts girl transplanted in North Carolina soil. I miss the cold beaches on the Cape but have come to love the blue skies and warm winters in the South. I am a mom to two college aged young women that are poised to take over the world as soon as they figure out how to fend for themselves.

What are you reading right now?

I’ve always got a bunch of books going at the same time. Today, I am halfway through the audio version of Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty which has been excellent so far. On the surface it is a light story about a competitive group of kindergarten moms, but it is much deeper than that. Moriarty is my kind of writer – funny yet deathly serious. I have also been listening to The Case Has Altered by Martha Grimes as my ‘relax before  sleep’ book. I am a huge Martha Grimes fan. I thought this was a new book when I picked it up from Audible but about a third of the way through, I realized I read this book at some point before. I will keep listening because I don’t remember who the killer was and I am enjoying the story again. My current ‘morning writing craft book’ right now is Wired For Story by Lisa Cron.  It is great. Cron discusses the craft of writing in terms of how story effects the readers brain as they are reading and how to write so the reader gets the best possible experience. I highly recommend it. Lastly, I am reading an advance copy of  The Winter Boy by Sally Wiener Grotta on my Kindle. The book will be out in November. I have not read beyond the first few chapters yet, but it is great so far. I picked it up because Grotta was compared to Mary Doria Russell (one of my favorite writers) and so far it’s an apt comparison. If you’d like to keep up with what I am reading, connect with me on Goodreads.

Which authors influenced you the most?

Many authors have contributed to my writing style. It’s hard to narrow them down to a short list. I’ve been an avid reader for over 40 years, so I’ve read hundreds of books. Every time I pick up something by Hemingway, I am influenced by his sentence structure. Ruth Rendell and Josephine Tey influenced my sense of character and twisted plots. The Brontes influenced the way I write about women and place.

Do you have a newsletter?

I have a roughly monthly newsletter where I keep my readers apprised of the progress of my novels, give them insights into the research I am working on, and announce opportunities to receive free books and prizes. You can sign up here – newsletter sign-up

Is there anything else you’d like us to know?
I enjoy participating in blog hops and enjoy sharing cover reveals. If you’d like to guest post on my blog, please contact me.

How can people connect with you?
Blogs: ElizabethHein.com and Scribbling In The Storage Room

Twitter: @_ElizabethHein
Facebook
Goodreads 
Google+

Book Trailer for How To Climb The Eiffel Tower 


Follow Fest has been great fun. I am also guest posting today over on Bridget Whelan’s blog. Check it out and here – Elizabeth Hein’s Route To Publication – and stick around to learn a bit about Bridget and her books.

