Tags

, , ,

photo credit: inkflo

photo credit: inkflo

I look forward to the Insecure Writer’s Support Group posts every month. I love how honest and supportive this community of writers is. I encourage you to visit the other participating bloggers and see what is going on in their writing rooms.

This month, I am feeling trepidatious about writing my next book. At this point in the rewrite, it is taking on a life of its own. My outline has been completely blown away, people who were supposed to be dead are refusing to die, and the love story subplot is simply not happening the way I wanted it to. Every morning when I sit down to write, the characters are saying things that are surprising me. They’re interesting things but I have no idea where they fit with my original story plan. I started out writing a novel about a woman’s journey of self discovery and it is quickly turning into a gothic novel about family secrets complete with a crazy woman in the attic. The story is like a wisteria vine – a thing of beauty that, if I’m not careful, will rip the siding right off my house.

Have you ever had one of your books take on a life of its own? Did you try to rein it in or did you let the story take over and deal with any plot holes and logic issues in the editing phases?

 

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

 

The Insecure Writer’s Support Group is a monthly blog hop to lend support to a growing community of writers. I encourage you to go to Alex Cavanaugh’s excellent blog and join in. if you click on the logo above, it will take you to the list of participating blogs.

