Tags

,


Wow, we made it through another A to Z Challenge. I’d like to acknowledge the hardworking bloggers that put in hundreds of hours to run the challenge. They are: Arlee Bird at Tossing it OutAlex J. CavanaughStephen Tremp, Tina Downey at Life is Good, Damyanti Biswas at Amlokiblogs, Jeremy Hawkins at [Being Retro], Nicole Ayers at The Madlab PostM. J. Joachim, Heather M. Gardner at The Waiting is the Hardest Part, AJ Lauer at Naturally Sweet, and Pam Margolis at An Unconventional Librarian. They all deserve our thanks and devotion.

Now that I’ve had a few days to recover from the challenge, I have a few reflections:

  • I enjoy blogging, but I don’t always feel like I have much to say. I need to take the lesson of writing many of my AtoZ posts ahead of time, when the appropriate ideas struck me, and share them at a later date. I have been blogging for several years now. You’d think I would have gotten that down by now. Nope.
  • 26 posts on the same topic can get boring.  Some of the blogs I visited talked about similar ideas every day and kept my interest, others did not. The most successful themes mixed it up a little bit every day. I talked about my upcoming book all month. I hope I didn’t bore people. Some people had a different theme per week. That worked well.
  • Short and sweet works very well. I notices that short posts got read all the way through. Long posts can lose people.
  • Pictures are great. I need to learn how to incorporate more graphics into my posts. I am exploring more ways to do this without violating copyrights.
  • I don’t like reading white text on a black background. I think this is a sign that I am getting old.
  • You need to strike a balance with the number of widgets and extra stuff on each page. I like seeing links to people’s books, other social media feeds, and badges, but it can get to be too much. I will be reviewing my widgets in the next few weeks.
  • It’s hard to comment on posts on Blogger from a WordPress blog, but not impossible. I finally figured out how to include a link back to my blog so the person doesn’t have to search around for me if they want to comment back. I also made an effort to follow the Blogger bloggers I would like to keep in daily contact with on my other social networks so their posts will show up in my Google+ feed or Twitter feed. I want to keep in touch with these people while making it as easy for myself as possible.
