Tags

For the last day in the A to Z Challenge, I chose  the word ZAP to signify the radiation treatments that Lara Blaine received to eradicate her cervical cancer in How To Climb The Eiffel Tower. Although she had been told the treatments would be painless and read extensively about the procedures, Lara still expected a flash of light or a zap during the treatments. When I talked to people in cancer centers as research, I found it interesting how many expect to experience a zap when receiving radiation. When I asked one older lady what she expected to experience in the treatment room, she replied “There’s going to be a a quick flash and then they’ll zap me with the beam.” as if everyone should know that. She came and found me a half hour later to tell me, “Nothing happened. I went in, laid down, and then they told me to come back tomorrow.” It was hard not to laugh. She was genuinely shocked that there was no flash. I heard similar comments throughout my research.

It has been a ton of fun participating in the A to Z Challenge. I hope you’ve had fun with it too. I’ve met some interesting people and learned so much. Thanks.

THIS POST IS PART OF THE BLOGGING FROM A TO Z CHALLENGE. FOR THE 2014 CHALLENGE, I WILL BE HIGHLIGHTING BITS AND PIECES OF RESEARCH AND BACKGROUND ON MY UPCOMING NOVEL, HOW TO CLIMB THE EIFFEL TOWER. PLEASE CLICK HERE OR ON THE BADGE TO THE LEFT TO SEE THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

Today is the last day to enter my cover reveal giveaway of an Advanced Reader Copy of How To Climb The Eiffel Tower and an Eiffel Tower charm.

