Tags

,

Wow, X is a tough letter. I struggled to come up with a good word to use for today’s post so I dug through my big orange envelope of 50-cent-words and found  Xenodochial. I like to collect neat words that rarely come up in conversation but are fun to know. Xenodochial is a highly intellectual-sounding word meaning “friendly to strangers.”

I thought this was an appropriate word to include in a series of posts about How To Climb The Eiffel Tower because it is the kind of word that Lara, the book’s main character, would use. She would be uncomfortable being welcoming or being welcomed and would hide behind her lexicon in a social situation. Big words can distance you the people you are talking to.

 

Have you ever used your vocabulary to distance yourself from others? Have you ever talked to someone that used words to set up a barrier between you? Are you xenodochial?

THIS POST IS PART OF THE BLOGGING FROM A TO Z CHALLENGE. FOR THE 2014 CHALLENGE, I WILL BE HIGHLIGHTING BITS AND PIECES OF RESEARCH AND BACKGROUND ON MY UPCOMING NOVEL, HOW TO CLIMB THE EIFFEL TOWER. PLEASE CLICK HERE OR ON THE BADGE TO THE LEFT TO SEE THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

 

Don’t forget to sign up for the chance to win a Advanced Reader Copy of How To Climb The Eiffel Tower during my Cover Reveal Giveaway

