Tags

, ,

Color effects us on a sub-concious level. Blue is calming. Yellow is happy. We don’t really think about it. I love things we don’t consciously think about. When I sat down to write How To Climb The Eiffel Tower, color played heavily in the way I saw Lara’s journey. Her movement through a series of color-coded waiting rooms was the first image I saw in my mind’s eye. The idea of a colored tile path leading her through a maze-like hospital developed from there.

Another scene that appeared in my head early on in the drafting process, was a powerful flashback. I could see Lara lying on the floor of her bedroom with frilly pink dotted-swiss curtains and a ruffled bed skirt in the background as if I were actually there. I liked the juxtaposition of pink; a color that means feminine happiness, with the horrible things that went on in that room. From there, I echoed the girlie pink color in other scenes where awful things also happen. In the revision phase of the manuscript, I made a point to amplify the use of color throughout. Vanessa, a veritable parrot of a character, enters Lara’s life as a foil to her boss, who is always wearing black. I also played with color as a symbol of renewal and hope in the scenes where Lara changes her hair and goes shopping.

Do you think about things like color when you are writing? Are you even aware of the color choices you make for your characters? Is there another sense that you tend to utilize more?

If you are interested in the psychology of color, here is a handy dandy chart –

THIS POST IS PART OF THE BLOGGING FROM A TO Z CHALLENGE. FOR THE 2014 CHALLENGE, I WILL BE HIGHLIGHTING BITS AND PIECES OF RESEARCH AND BACKGROUND ON MY UPCOMING NOVEL, HOW TO CLIMB THE EIFFEL TOWER. PLEASE CLICK HERE OR ON THE BADGE TO THE LEFT TO SEE THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

 The cover for How To Climb The Eiffel Tower will be officially revealed on May 1, 2014

I’m so excited, that I am giving away an Advanced Reader Copy of the book along with a small Eiffel Tower charm (you’ll understand why once you read the book). Visit my Facebook author page or clink on the link to enter now – Cover Reveal Giveaway

