Tags

,

Lara Blaine is the first person main character in How To Climb The Eiffel Tower. She is a twenty-nine year old commodities analyst that is hiding from her past. She believes that if she can just stick to her rigid schedule of work and exercise and stay vigilant, she is okay. A cancer diagnosis proves her wrong. Throughout her treatment for cervical cancer, Lara meets a series of people that show her that she can climb out of her dark past into the a bright future, one step at a time.

The character of Lara is an amalgamation of several young women I have known over the years. Unfortunately, abuse and neglect are far more common than many people would like to believe. I was an empathetic kid that was part a loving family. Girls in need of a safe place seemed to follow me home on a regular basis.  I knew several girls that were exceedingly bright, but were made to feel stupid by the adults in their lives. Others were mistreated so much that they had no self-esteem left to carry them into adulthood. Even as a child, I was outraged at the way these girls had to live. I guess that indignation stuck with me and came out when I sat down to write this novel.

Writer friends, are any of your characters based on people you have known in the real world? Have you ever written a happier ending for someone you knew?


The cover for How To Climb The Eiffel Tower will be officially revealed on May 1, 2014

I’m so excited, that I am giving away an Advanced Reader Copy of the book along with a small Eiffel Tower charm (you’ll understand why once you read the book). Visit my Facebook author page or clink on the link to enter now – Cover Reveal Giveaway


THIS POST IS PART OF THE BLOGGING FROM A TO Z CHALLENGE. FOR THE 2014 CHALLENGE, I WILL BE HIGHLIGHTING BITS AND PIECES OF RESEARCH AND BACKGROUND ON MY UPCOMING NOVEL, HOW TO CLIMB THE EIFFEL TOWER. PLEASE CLICK HERE OR ON THE BADGE TO THE LEFT TO SEE THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

