Tags

, ,

Pets can have a profound effect on a person’s psychological well being, especially for people who are socially isolated. When I was writing How To Climb The Eiffel Tower, I wanted to show a physical manifestation of the main character’s newfound desire to form emotional connections. A dog was a safe first step. Dogs can be excellent listeners and give unconditional love – just what Lara needed at the time. Barkis the Dog provided Lara with relief from feelings of isolation, increased her sense of security, and provided a secure, uncomplicated relationship.(1)  Welcoming a dog into her life allowed her to ease into accepting love and showing affection.

i love this picture of a happy pit bull. I taped it to the wall above my computer while I was editing the manuscript. That face makes me smile every time I look at it.

Pit bull terrier

THIS POST IS PART OF THE BLOGGING FROM A TO Z CHALLENGE. FOR THE 2014 CHALLENGE, I WILL BE HIGHLIGHTING BITS AND PIECES OF RESEARCH AND BACKGROUND ON MY UPCOMING NOVEL, HOW TO CLIMB THE EIFFEL TOWER. PLEASE CLICK HERE OR ON THE BADGE TO THE LEFT TO SEE THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PARTICIPATING BLOGS.
