Tags

, , ,

When I first started doing the research for How To Climb The Eiffel Tower, I was looking for a physical illness that could be a metaphor for my main character’s psychological pain. Cervical cancer was the perfect metaphor. It is a cancer that caused by a sexually transmitted virus and is preventable by a simple vaccine. I would have been hard pressed to find a better metaphor for Lara’s psychic wounds left by her stepfather’s abuse. 

As I did my research, I was struck by how serious cervical cancer can be and how treatable it can be when caught early. Awareness is key. Please look the information below and know the signs of this illness.

Cervical Cancer facts –

  • Last year, over 12,000 new cases of cervical cancer were diagnosed. More than 4,000 of those women will die of the disease.
  • Deaths from cervical cancer have declined by nearly 70% in the US over the last 50 years. This decline is attributed to increased use of pap test screenings.
  • Early detection is key. When detected early, 5-year-survival is nearly 91%.

Image by jamieissuperawesome

Additional resources –

Women’s Health Facts
American Cancer Society – Cervical Cancer page
CDC fact sheet

THIS POST IS PART OF THE BLOGGING FROM A TO Z CHALLENGE. FOR THE 2014 CHALLENGE, I WILL BE HIGHLIGHTING BITS AND PIECES OF RESEARCH AND BACKGROUND ON MY UPCOMING NOVEL, HOW TO CLIMB THE EIFFEL TOWER. PLEASE CLICK HERE OR ON THE BADGE TO THE LEFT TO SEE THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

