Tags

, , , ,

When we first meet Lara Blaine in How To Climb The Eiffel Tower, her only friends are Lizzie Bennet, Jane Eyre, and David Copperfield. She doesn’t trust real people. Book friends are reliable. They can’t hurt you and they are the same each time you read their books. Lara’s book friends got her through the hard years of her adolescence and kept her company in the years after. Although Lara is a fairly extreme example, many people have book friends they return to when times get tough. I know I do. If I am going through a stressful time, I reread Jane Eyre or Anne of Green Gables. They are familiar stories from my childhood that comfort me.

Do you have book friends that you return to over and over again? Do they somehow seem more real than actual people at times?

THIS POST IS PART OF THE BLOGGING FROM A TO Z CHALLENGE. FOR THE 2014 CHALLENGE, I WILL BE HIGHLIGHTING BITS AND PIECES OF RESEARCH AND BACKGROUND ON MY UPCOMING NOVEL, HOW TO CLIMB THE EIFFEL TOWER. PLEASE CLICK HERE OR ON THE BADGE TO THE LEFT TO SEE THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER PARTICIPATING BLOGS.

 

