Tags

, , ,

20130428-183904.jpg

Writing a novel can be a nebulous task. It is easy to write a chapter here and a few pages there. Without some type of yardstick, it is hard to tell if you are making progress toward a tangible goal. When I started my first novel, I was happy just to see a growing pile of written pages. I didn’t have a plan for the project at all and, surprise surprise, the novel floundered in the editing phase. At that point, I read several books on how to finish a novel and picked my husband’s brain for how I could employ project management techniques in my writing. It took a bit of tweaking his expertise with managing a team of people to relate to one person writing a book, but I now have a list of “deliverables” for my third novel. Breaking down the task of taking the novel from conception to publishing into finite tasks with intermediary deadlines, will make it a reality.

