Tags

, , , , ,

One of my New Years resolutions was to declutter my house. It’s going relatively well. I still haven’t tackled the accursed garage but I’ve gotten rid of a disused chair and jettisoned my husband’s college dorm room artwork.

In my writing room, I had a shelf filled with back issues of The Writer, Writer’s Digest, and Poets & Writers. I’d read the issues and dutifully filed them away in plastic magazine   holders. Why? I hadn’t look at a one in almost four years. Do you keep old magazines? Do you ever go back and look at them?

IMG_0295

The lower section of my wire shelving unit is now empty. I’ve gone through all the back issues and ripped out the best articles. Then, I found this odd filing purse my sister-in-law gave me as a present once, and organized the articles by subject. Now, when a want some wisdom on characterization or overcoming writer’s block, I can go to that section and read about it. Is there a pile of clutter in your writing room? How are you going to tackle it?

