Bob Evenhouse at Part-time Novelist has invited me to participate in a blog chain to introduce you to some other writers. I choose to add a few more links and connect you to Vikki Thompson at The View Outside, Anne Woodman at Writing By The Numbers, and Carrie Rubin at The Write Transition. And as a delayed bonus, Noelle Granger at Sayling Away after she returns from becoming the bionic woman with two artificial shoulders.

What is your working title of your book (or story)?

Overlook

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I was standing next to a woman at a PTA function and noticed her eye was twitching. I couldn’t let that twitch go, I had to figure out what could cause a pulled together PTA mom to come unglued.  From there, the book took on a life of its own.

What genre does your book fall under?

Women’s fiction

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I picture Julianne Moore playing Kitty. She could portray the uptight mom with a dark side without being over the top. Kristin Chenowith would play the other main character, Stacia well. She can play and controlling Southern belle at the same time.  And, as long as I’m dreaming, I would cast Helen Hunt as Kitty’s wine swilling sister.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Kitty’s pretty life is sullied by a dirty truth.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m not sure yet. I have  queried a few agents but the more I learn about self publishing, the more attractive that path looks. The publishing industry is in a state of flux so it’s hard to tell what the best way is to get my book in readers’ hand. 

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

The first draft took about six months to write. I had the main characters in my head already so the story came together easily around them. It took me another year to get the novel to int final draft.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Joy for Beginners by Erica Bauermeister; Belong To Me by Marisa de los Santos; Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I was inspired by the women I’ve met through my children. Most of the other moms I know are highly educated, ambitious people who didn’t set out to spend their days baking cupcakes and driving kids to soccer practice. Many of these women are questioning how they got off-track and what to do next with their lives.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Overlook not only deals with the issues facing suburban moms. It also touches on the larger issues facing the New South.

