Tags

, , ,

Standing Desk close enough to screen to read what I’m typing

Do any of you write standing up? I suffer from chronic back pain and am finding it impossible to sit in my office chair for more than a few minutes at a time. I remembered seeing a picture of Ernest Hemingway writing at a standing desk, and thought – what the hey. I made this standing desk out of an abandoned keyboard stand and a scrap of plywood. I covered it with a scrap of fabric because I don’t like getting splinters.

keyboard stand and piece of plywood

I never really thought about the physical requirements of writing until the last few weeks. One of my writing buddies recently had shoulder surgery and another will soon be having a shoulder replaced. How do you type when you can’t use your arm?

How do you deal with the physical constraints of writing? Do you suffer from carpal tunnel syndrome? Back problems? Nerve damage?

