Tags

,

Stevenson Memorial
Abbott Thayer 1903
Smithsonian American Art Museum

Confront the dark parts of yourself. Your willingness to wrestle with your demons will cause your angels to sing.
                                 August Wilson

I have been revising my Lara manuscript lately and am reminded how difficult it is to write about cancer. Even though I am more than 10 years out of my own treatment experience and the novel doesn’t follow my own illness at all, it’s hard to go back there. Even in my mind. But….. that is what makes the story as powerful as it is.

If I can take my thoughts and feelings and combine them with the thoughts and words of the people I met in the various waiting rooms I spent my days in for a year to get something of beauty, albeit a dark beauty, okay.

