Tags

, , , , ,

I was watching Charlie Rose’s lovely tribute to the recently deceased Nora Ephron and was struck by her use of the phrase “everything is copy.” Apparently, her parents used their family’s life as material for their screenplays. This reminded me of the scene in Something’s Got To Give where the main character writes and cries her way through a break-up.

I certainly use my life in my novels. My daughter recently read a draft of Overlook and laughed out loud when she got to certain scenes. Little details like my husband looking terrible in yellow and how boring it is to watch a swim meet lend verisimilitude to the story.

Do you do this? Do you write about your own life? Do you write about things that have happened to your loved one’s? How do they feel about that?

