As you may have read in my previous post, I participated in Camp Nanowrimo during the month of June. Now that I’ve had a few days to look back on the experience,  I have a few thoughts:

  • You don’t have to finish to be a winner – The goal of any Nano event is to get to the 50,000 words mark but by no means are you finished with your story at 50,000 words. You’re not even really done with a first draft at that point.
  • Great stuff can come out of tangents –  Part of the beauty of Nano is that you don’t have time to stick to a disciplined plot plan. You tend to go off on wild tangents with no idea where you are going and, many times, those tangents are richer than your original plan. One morning, I asked one of my characters why they gained so much weight and she said, “because I was starved as a child.” Well, I had to find out what that was all about and spent the next three days shocked at what came out of my fingers.
  • Lots of people are quitters – I am continually amazed by how many people start nanowrimo events and quit. Sure,  not everybody can get to 50,000 words in 30 days but, they could try. Part of the fun atmosphere of Camp Nanowrimo is the idea of cabins. I was put together with four other middle aged women all writing mainstream fiction. Only one other woman made it past day four. The other three quit before they even got really started.
  • I do love a flash back – I can’t seem to help myself. There are huge swathes of back story that interrupt the action for pages and pages.  I tend to be far more interested in why someone does something than what they actually do. A lot of the back story will have to be cut but it is still important that I at least know that information.
