I had a frustrating experience this morning. I was in the middle of writing a short piece and was really on a roll, when my husband came into my office to talk to me. Now, I can’t get back to where I was in the story. I have no idea where I was going.

I was in what you could call a liminal state before the interruption.  It is a little like the first moment before you fully wake up or just before you fall asleep, and can be the best creative space. At least for me. When I am in that space, a story will come out through my fingers without being filtered through my conscious, i.e. critical, mind. I have trained myself to get back into that space through meditation but it is a fleeting thing. Once I am interrupted, it is gone and gone for good.

Do you ever write, or think, in a semi-conscious state? How do you get there?  How do you stay there?

How do you

