Tags

, , , , ,

Amymarie at The Literary Mom recommended Elizabeth Lyon’s Manuscript Makeover – Revision Techniques No Fiction Writer Can Afford to Ignore to her followers back in February. Great advice!

Lyon discusses the editing process many different perspectives. There is a well articulated section on issues like sentence structure, use of metaphors and stylistic issues. Many writing books talk about the five-stage structure, but Lyon breaks it down so you can actually relate it to your manuscript.

I like to mark up my reference books with little stickie notes so I can come back to the “important” parts. This book has a rainbow of of flags in the section regarding character dimension and theme. Elizabeth Lyon outlines the idea of a backstory wound better than any of the other writing books I’ve read. If you are embarking on a big editing project, I highly recommend you read this book first.

