As part of The Writers Platform Building Campaign, I was tagged by Christine Tyler at The Writer Coaster to answer 11 questions about myself. Thanks Christine.

1. What do you eat when you write?

I try not to eat near my computer because I have killed too many keyboards with crumbs. I do drink vats of coffee.

2. What do you do when you experience despair and crippling doubt?

Cry, cry some more, then get up and move on.

3. How did you find your first critique partner, or what are you looking for in a future CP?

I found my first critique partners on-line through Meetup. That went badly but I liked the concept of a critique group.  Around three years ago, a bunch of women answered a local man’s ad on the NC Writers Network message board and Metaphor 5 was born. The young man immediately dropped out but the rest of us have been supporting each other, and eating lunch every other Monday, ever since. I am also active in a work-in-progress group of 9 dynamic women, and the Triangle Writers Network.

4. What is your biggest distraction when you write?

Knowing that there is a television in the other room. I have to play games with myself  like – you can watch Criminal Minds if you finish this chapter before noon.

5. What character in your writing are you most proud of development-wise? Why?

This a tough one. I am proud of the way my character Kitty gets a bit of gumption but my heart will always belong to Lara (my oh so sad, bookworm).

6. What is the worst thing you have ever written?

Angst filled adolescent poetry.

7. Do you talk to yourself, get up and act things out, or make faces when you’re writing? Tell us about one of these times 😀

I don’t act it out but I have been known to chortle when killing people off.

8. Where do you go for inspiration?

I walk in the Doris Duke Gardens near my house. It’s hard to be uninspired when sitting by the Japanese Bridge there.

9. What is the hardest part about writing for you?

Self doubt and impatience.

10. If you were a world-famous author, what advice would you give aspiring authors?

Keep your butt in the chair and don’t give up.

11. Have you ever had Ketchup Chips?

No, but I am addicted to pickle chips, which are thinly sliced dill pickles dredged in corm meal and deep fried. Yum.

Here are my questions for you –

  1.  Where do you write?
  2. What is your favorite writing guide book?
  3. What kind of book do you love to read but are afraid to write?
  4. What social media outlets do you use to promote your writing? Has it been a good experience?
  5. Would you rather write a villain or a hero?
  6. Do you set writing goals for yourself?
  7. Do you talk to your family and friends about what your writing or do you keep it to yourself until it’s done?
  8. What comment from a critique partner has changed your writing the most?
  9. What kind of scenes do you find the hardest to write?
  10. What is your favorite writing music?
  11. When do you know a piece is done and ready for the world?

I am tagging:

The Literary Mom, Stepheny Houghtlin, Brigitte’s Banter,

