Tags

, , , , ,

Recently I cautioned one of my writing buddies about avoiding cliched romantic scenes, particularly people making up after a fight and kissing in the rain. Yuck.

I was feeling smug, for about a minute, but now I’m wondering what cliched scenarios have I written? It’s the nature of that beast that these conventions are so common that we don’t always see them. I ran across this fabulous post by Linda Holmes on Monkey See that illustrates this point. I had to go back and watch the movie trailer for The Vow twice to catch all 38 cliches. Wow. I am adding a cliche check to my to do list as I continue my editing but, I can tell you right now, the scene where Kitty (main character) sits on the couch and looks through a photo album of her marriage is getting cut today.

