It never fails to amaze me how two groups of people will read the same pages and make such very different conclusions from them.

Yesterday afternoon, I had my Sunday group read the section that explains how Seth and Kitty got together. The Friday group loved that section because it explained why Kitty is where she is in life. I wrote it and placed it there in response to Stepheny’s questions about how such a smart woman could be in such a bad situation. The Sunday group never questioned that. they just want to see Kitty reek some revenge on her husband. Same text with very different interpretations. What does that say about my writing? Either I am being way to vague or they are reading their own experiences into the text. Is a bad thing? Isn’t a bit of what fiction is supposed to do? Aren’t we supposed to see ourselves in the story and relate to the characters on a personal level.

